Skip links and keyboard navigation


Three priority work areas have been established to improve water quality outcomes:

  1. Prioritising investment and knowledge - Prioritise, coordinate and integrate programs to maximise reef water outcomes.
  2. Responding to the challenge - Landholders adopt management systems that maximise reef water quality improvements while maintaining and enhancing resilience, business performance and environmental outcomes. Government policies and programs that support Reef Plan goals and targets are maintained.
  3. Evaluating performance - The efficiency and effectiveness of Reef Plan is measured through monitoring, evaluation and reporting.

There are nine key actions grouped by priority work areas. The actions are relatively broad and encompass a number of deliverables. This provides flexibility and adaptability to ensure other activities can be undertaken that contribute to achieving the targets. The actions in Reef Plan 2013 build upon activities that have occurred over the past 10 years of Reef Plan. Many of the actions and deliverables will require a partnership approach.

The lead organisation is responsible for coordinating implementation and reporting progress to ensure actions are completed and milestones met. Where there is shared responsibility, the organisation highlighted in bold is responsible for reporting on delivery. Contributors are those organisations or agencies that contribute to delivery of the action or deliverable, or that provide advice to inform implementation.

Regional NRM delivery agents could encompass multiple organisations at the regional level.


  • DPC – Queensland Government Department of the Premier and Cabinet
  • DSEWPaC – Australian Government Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities
  • DAFF – Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • DNRM – Queensland Government Department of Natural Resources and Mines
  • DEHP – Queensland Government Department of Environment and Heritage Protection
  • QDAFF – Queensland Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • BOM – Bureau of Meteorology
  • GBRMPA – Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
  • DSITI – Queensland Government Department of Science, Information Technology and Innovation
  • DSDIP – Queensland Government Department of State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
  • LGAQ – Local Government Association of Queensland
  • NPSR – Queensland Government Department of National Parks, Sport and Racing
  • NRM – Natural Resource Management
Last updated:
27 August, 2014
Last reviewed:
25 September, 2013

Rate this page

  1. How useful was the information on this page?
  2. If you would like a response please include your email address or a contact number. Comments containing web links will not be sent.

Please remove any 'http://' first